Can a magically-disguised princess make herself heard when it really matters?

spiked gate coming down to block castle

About TROUBLE WITH PARSNIPS

book cover TROUBLE WITH PARSNIPS

For ages 9 to 12

For fans of Jean Ferris’ ONCE UPON A MARIGOLD, Jacqueline Davies’ THE LEMONADE WARS, and E.G. Foley’s THE GRYPHON CHRONICLES.

A Story About the Magic of Speaking Up

The nameless princess might get a name today! Her 14th try is looking good . . . Even though she can’t get a word in edgewise. 
Then the Blackfly Queen strides into the feasting hall . . . Just as the oh-so-tasty parsnip fries run out.
 Arrows fly! Tempers flare! Another christening goes up in smoke! 
Her fairy godmother’s perfect leadership gift has one small side effect: The princess has 15 days to make a name for herself . . . Or she’ll be invisible for life! What’s a princess to do? 
Can she finally use the tool that’s never worked. . .her quiet voice?

Why read Seven Kingdoms Fairy Tales?

Everyone knows the leaders of tomorrow will need lots of skills. Each Seven Kingdoms Fairy Tale takes on a BIGGIE.

In each Tale, a fairy godparent gives one lucky child the perfect leadership gift. Abracadabra!
 
If only they’d remember the training wheels! Yiiiiiiikes!
 
Whether it’s speaking up at a feast, reading a compass or taking a test in a strange kingdom, these Tales are all about finding more magic in your life.

What readers are saying

“I love all the rich details like the Blackflies, the goldfish in the moat, the sluices carrying the desserts . . .”
–Karin Lefranc
author, I WANT TO EAT YOUR BOOKS
“Kids will love every quirky thing about it!”
–Kristi Wientge
author, KARMA KHULLAR’S MUSTACHE​
“I love the premise of hiding in plain sight. The concept that a kid could go through childhood – and life – without feeling they are being heard or seen is such an important topic . . . I know a lot of kids will be drawn to this!”
–Halli Gomez
contributing author, BRAVE NEW GIRLS: TALES OF HEROINES WHO HACK
“Emotionally engaging. I feel much sympathy for [the nameless princess], yet at the same time her parents and all their inadequacies are so endearing.”
–Michelle Leonard
contributing author, BRAVE NEW GIRLS: STORIES OF GIRLS WHO SCIENCE AND SCHEME, Young Adult (Sci-Fi Anthology for ages 12+)

More about Trouble With Parsnips

Have you ever had a great idea and couldn’t get anyone to listen? Or maybe you built an amazing model or folded a paper jet or cooked up something else that turned out fair to excellent–but no one was interested.

If you know what I’m talking about, you’ll probably enjoy Twyla’s story–oops! The name of this inventor princess is top secret! Don’t tell!

The real town of Cochem has a castle perched high above the Mosel River valley. There’s something in the air that just says fairy tale. Take a mini-tour here.

Test your skill and your knowledge of the Seven Kingdoms with a maze or a crossword puzzle here.

Available wherever good books are sold.

Library:

Available wherever good books are sold.

Paperback & Hardcover:

Book Depository (free worldwide shipping)

IndieBound

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Toppsta

Library